Cllr Ian James

Ian James was elected to the Council in 2017.

Ian writes; "I am delighted to have been elected as one of the two Conservative and Unionist Councillors for the Strathtay ward. Living and working in Perth and Kinross, I am very passionate about the area and decided that if I wanted to see changes, rather than complain about them, I should stand up to be counted - and that is what I will continue to do.

"I am unhappy about the former SNP-run Council's waste of public money and lack of investment in the things that matter.  Their focus was on spending money on projects such as expensive new Council chambers in Perth whilst increasing our Council tax. I believe this is unacceptable. 

"I make no promises of being able to change things overnight. What I do promise, is that I will represent everyone fairly and I will seek to influence the Council to ensure that the Strathtay ward gets its share of investment in infrastructure, education and healthcare.


My priorities for Strathtay

1. Opposing housing overdevelopment. Seeking to minimise disruption
to communities where development takes place

2.  Campaigning to ensure that all children are given the best
education and letting teachers get on with their jobs. Ensuring active
recreation for our young people to keep them fit and healthy.

3. Minimising  the Council Tax burden on family budgets and
delivering efficient services.

4. Supporting business expansion and calling for better Broadband in
rural areas.

5. Listening to small communities and ensuring they are well represented.

6. Opposing a second, divisive independence referendum "



See Also

Cllr Chris Ahern

Chris was elected as Councillor for the Perth City Centre Ward in 2017.

Cllr Kathleen Baird

Kathleen Baird was re-elected to represent the Almond and Earn ward in 2017.

Kathleen writes: "It has been an enormous privilege to serve the community of Almond and Earn and I am delighted to have been re-elected to the Council .

Cllr Bob Brawn

Bob Brawn was elected in 2017 as a Councillor for the Blairgowrie and Glens ward, alongside Cllr Caroline Shiers . Having run the local shop and Post Office with his wife for the last fourteen years, Bob is well-placed to appreciate the changing concerns of the local community.

Cllr Harry Coates

Harry Coates was elected to Perth and Kinross Council in 2017.

Harry writes: "I am delighted to have been elected as Councillor for Perth City North. 

Cllr Angus Forbes

Angus Forbes was elected to Perth and Kinross Council in 2017 representing the Carse of Gowrie ward.

Cllr David Illingworth

David Illingworth was elected Councillor for Almond and Earn in 2017.

David writes: " I am delighted to have been elected to serve Almond and Earn ward at Perth and Kinross Council.

Cllr Anne Jarvis

Anne Jarvis was elected as Councillor for the Strathtay Ward in 2017.


Anne writes: "I am delighted to have been elected to serve Strathtay. I have lived here  for more than 3 years having moved to Perth and Kinross to be nearer my family. 

Cllr Murray Lyle

Elected in 2007 to represent the Strathallan Ward and  re-elected in 2012 and in 2017, Murray is spokesman on Environment issues for the Scottish Conservative group on Perth and Kinross Council.